Ordinary (but with extraordinary grace)

Scripture:  Mathew 11:20-24index
Then he began to reproach the cities in which most of his deeds of power had been done, because they did not repent. 21 “Woe to you, Chorazin! Woe to you, Bethsaida! For if the deeds of power done in you had been done in Tyre and Sidon, they would have repented long ago in sackcloth and ashes. 22 But I tell you, on the day of judgment it will be more tolerable for Tyre and Sidon than for you. 23 And you, Capernaum, will you be exalted to heaven? No, you will be brought down to Hades. For if the deeds of power done in you had been done in Sodom, it would have remained until this day. 24 But I tell you that on the day of judgment it will be more tolerable for the land of Sodom than for you.”

Observation:  This is a fascinating reading.  Here we have an example of Jesus getting angry.  We tend to think of Jesus as “meek and mild” but here Jesus is down right angry (I picture him all read in the face).  He is angry because – even though he healed the sick, gave sight to the blind, fed many people, cast out demons, and did other “deeds of power” – the cities did not repent and believe in him.

There are a number of cities named, but most notably to me is Capernaum.  Why?  Because Capernaum was the hometown of Peter and Jesus’ “home base.”  Of all the cities that did not believe, why Capernaum?  That seems so odd.  Capernaum had the benefit of seeing Jesus more up close and personal.

I wonder if what kept them from believing in Jesus was that, in spite of all he did, he was still too ordinary?  Or maybe it was the fact that the people knew Peter and Andrew (and maybe James and John) and they were too ordinary?  They might have thought, “that guy’s the head disciple?”

But I also wonder if that isn’t the point that Capernaum missed in not believing in the good news.  What if it is precisely the ordinariness of us that makes the good news, good and makes grace, GRACE.

Application:  I know I brought up this passage of in a recent post, but whenever I think about God’s amazing, audacious, superabundant grace I quickly think about Paul’s image of Clay Jars.  Because, honestly, we are ordinary – there is a reason why Jesus said a “prophet is not without honor except in his hometown, and among their own kin and own family.  But, the fact that we are ordinary, that we do struggle with our self-focused tendencies that keep us from loving God and our neighbor more fully, and we are not perfect even when we want to be is precisely what makes grace, Grace: God’s free – unearned and unmerited – favor and love.

Therefore, we don’t need to put on a show or wear a mask because our ordinariness brings out the power of grace.  We are the (bad) example of God’s audacious grace!  And freed from the bondage of proving our worth and our value, we are free to love our neighbor and give ourselves, our time and our possessions away.  We are freed to be the cracked and imperfect jars we are.  That is the power of Grace.  Then our imperfections and ordinariness are not areas of shame to be hidden, but places in which the grace of God is revealed more clearly.

Prayer:  Gracious God, I give you thanks for the love you have given me.  I thank you that while I am not perfect, your perfect love shines down.  I pray that in my ordinariness – in my faults and my failings – your grace can shine even brighter for all the see.  Amen.

One thought on “Ordinary (but with extraordinary grace)

  1. Pingback: A secret no more | Faith Camino

Leave a comment